Skip to main content

First-time Homebuyers Assistance Program

Are you a first-time homebuyer interested in buying a home in Anoka County?

Included cities are:  Andover, Anoka, Bethel, Blaine, Centerville, Circle Pines, Columbia Heights, Columbus, Coon Rapids, East Bethel, Fridley, Ham Lake, Hilltop, Lexington, Lino Lakes, Linwood Township, Nowthen, Oak Grove, Ramsey, Spring Lake Park and St. Francis.

Minnesota Housing (MHFA) , the state’s housing finance agency, provides funds for various homebuyer and homeowner programs. The County participates in Minnesota Housing’s Start-Up program for first-time homebuyers. The program offers affordable fixed-rate mortgages to qualified buyers; down payment and closing cost loans may also be available. Mobile home purchases don’t qualify unless the home is permanently attached to a lot and taxed as real property.

Buyers must qualify financially and may also be required to attend a home buyer education class.  Buyers have two education options available to them: the in-person class (HomeStretch) or a new on-line class (Framework).  To locate classes, buyers can contact the Minnesota Homeownership Center at 651-659-9336. 

MHFA also continues to offer its loan program (Step Up) for non-first time home buyers.  The program has many of the same benefits and requirements that the Start Up program has; and although the county does not get an allocation for it, it is available to all qualified home buyers/owners. This program is for existing homeowners or repeat homebuyers who are looking to either purchase or refinance.

For more information, please visit the Anoka County website here: First-Time-Home-Buyer

City Hall

15544 Central Avenue NE Ham Lake, MN 55304

(763) 434-9555

Mon - Thurs: 7:00 am to 4:30 pm
Fri: 7:00 am to 11:00 am

Electronic Payments